Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Griswold Community Schools

District Info


Ajax Loading Image


Board Recognition Awards

The Griswold Community School Board of Education feels it is important to recognize students, staff, and community members for their achievements. The recipients of these awards will be archived here. If you have someone you feel should be recognized, please email Superintendent David Henrichs with your nomination.

May 2024 - Teacher Kara Victor : for representing the District well by being nominated for the Outstanding New Business Educator of the Year for the Iowa Business Education Association. And to Student Blake Foster : for winning the Judge's Award for the Third District in the Congressional Art Competition. 

April 2024 - Teacher and Band instructor Denise Mardesen : for leading the Jazz Band and helping them place third at State Competition. 

March 2024 - Teacher Jackie Brokaw : for her initiative in developing and organizing the Souper Showcase event that highlighted the District’s extracurricular programs.

February 2024 - Student Grant Rogers : for his participation in the fine arts programs and for being selected as an outstanding soloist at the Morningside College Jazz Festival along with the pianist for SWIBA Honor Jazz Band. Students Grant Adams, Brie Ross, Madeline Tischer, and Dane Carey : for their Group Improv speech performance and qualification for All-State Speech. 

January 2024 - Lisa Masker : for her dedication to the District and work as a custodian.

December 2023 - Joy Smith : for her being selected for the Joslyn Art Museum Ken Bellows Mentoring Program, having artwork in the "Word on the Street" Young Artist Exhibition, and for bring a published Illustrator in a children's book.

November 2023 - Cody Dorscher : for his achievements and hard work to qualify for State Cross Country.

October 2023 Technology Director Eric Baker : for going above and beyond job duties and initiating necessary improvements to the district's technology needs. Transportation Director Jeb Peck : for overall management of the transportation department and maintaining a compliant fleet.

September 2023 - MS/HS Paraprofessional Charlotte Evans : for constantly supporting students with medical needs and being an advocate for their success. Custodial Staff (Kevin Farr, Scott Franks, Doug Foster, Lisa Masker, Scott Robinson) for improving the building's overall appearance and maintaining cleanliness.  

August 2023 - Teacher Peggy Hansen : for her dedication to education and representing the District well by being named the Iowa Masonic Teacher of the Year.

July 2023 -  Teacher Nancie Platt : for her positivity in the classroom and work as a Driver's Education Instructor

June 2023 - Students Peyton Cook and Kamron Brownlee : for their achievements and hard work to qualify for State Golf

May 2023 - Bus Driver Arlene Petty : for going above and beyond in her duties as a bus driver

April 2023 -  Staff members Monica Brandt, Nancie Platt, Savanna Mixan, Gina Kroon, and Sandy Nelson : for organizing the Careers, Coffees, and Conversations student event

March 2023 - Student Madeline Tischer : for being a role model to younger students and peers along with her positivity and service attitude.

February 2023 - Student RJ Dishong : for his achievements and hard work to qualify for State Wrestling as a Freshman